Recommended Reading for Kids

2017 to 2018 Elementary School Reading Olympics

2018 Elementary School Reading Olympics (Printable PDF)

Readalikes for Popular Children’s Books

Do you love a popular book, but don’t know what to read next?  Check out these book lists, hand selected by RML’s Childrens’ Librarians.

Award Winning Children’s Books

Caldecott Medal Winners and Honor Books from 1938-Present
The Caldecott Medal is awarded each year, from the Association for Library Service to Children, to the illustrator of the most cheap proscar distinguished new American picture book for children. See the list HERE.

Newbery Medal and Honor Book 1922-Present
The Newbery Medal  is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. See the list HERE.

Pennsylvania Young Reader’s Choice Awards List
View the books chosen by the Pennsylvania School Librarians Association that promote reading of quality books by young people, promote teacher and librarian involvement in children’s literature, and honor authors whose work has been recognized by the children of Pennsylvania.  See the list HERE.

National Science Teachers Association Best Books List 2014 (K-8)
Check out a list selected by the National Science Teachers Association which feature brief summaries and STEM correlations. Great for Common Core! See the list HERE.